AI Advisory Committee

Call for Expressions of Interest – Artificial Intelligence Advisory Committee

The Department of Customer Service would like to invite suitably qualified experts in the area of Artificial Intelligence (AI) design and implementation to submit an expression of interest (EOI) to participate in the NSW Government’s AI Advisory Committee.

Following the announcement of the AI Strategy on 4 September 2020, an AI Advisory Committee is being established to provide ongoing strategic advice to government on the use of AI. It will facilitate collaboration, cooperation and positive partnerships across Government, industry and academia and provide expert advice to government agencies.

It’s an exciting time to contribute to shaping the emergence of AI implementation across the NSW Public Sector and create the world’s most customer-centric government. But AI needs to be developed responsibly and with a clear focus on outcomes so that the community has trust that the technology is being used appropriately, and that any unintended consequences are avoided or remedied quickly and effectively.

Successful candidates for Committee membership must have the following:

  • Relevant qualifications and expertise in areas relating to AI implementation (technical, legal, regulatory, ethics)
  • A recognised thought leader in the area of AI
  • Actively engaged in either the technical, legal, regulatory, ethical or academic area of AI design or implementation
  • Strategic thinker
  • Effective communicator

Remuneration for Members is determined by the NSW Government’s Board and Committees Framework for the AI Advisory Committee and is currently set at $220 per member per day (and pro rata for half day meetings).

Appointments will be made for a period up to two years.

Interested applicants can access more information pack and other relevant information via the links below;

  • AI Advisory Committee Information Pack
  • AI Strategy
  • AI Ethics Policy
  • AI User Guide

For further information please contact the Office of the Secretary via email at

Closing date for applications is 9:59am 8 December 2020.